Hello world!

Greetings from the other side of the pond!  Last night I left Atlanta, GA at 6:55pm on a flight bound for Madrid, Spain.  The flight was uneventful, and thanks to some prescription help, I was able to sleep a few hours.  I had a window seat, and the girl next to me was quiet and normal-sized. 🙂  Always nice!  We landed at 9:15am Spain-time, which felt like 3:15 to my body, but I hit the ground running and am just now hitting the wall.  My body hurts ALL OVER.  I took the Metro to the hotel for 2Euro and saved myself about 30E (~$45) by not taking a taxi to the hotel.  My shoulders are killing me now from carrying my bag so long, but I’m still glad to have the experience of taking public transportation when I can’t understand the language.  Thank goodness for color-coding and universal numbers!   When I arrived at my hostel, the girl I was to room with was already here with a friend of hers who is doing the program with us as well, so there are three of us in a room.  We took about an hour to get ourselves together and get a bit settled, and then we went to a  lunch meeting with Pueblo Ingles that lasted three hours.  Spaniards DINE instead of eat!  We had delicious paella and flan and were treated to a flamenco music presentation.  Afterwards we hit the city streets and saw many beautiful sites in Madrid.  How wonderful to be in a place with so much history.  This will be the only chance I have to see Madrid because we leave in the morning to drive five hours south to Cazorla, Spain to begin volunteering with Pueblo Ingles.  It is a different experience to travel with girls…I’m not exactly a girly girl person, but it was nice to have someone to be with after a long flight and my first time overseas!  The next eight days are packed with a tight schedule that begins at 9am and has activities scheduled until 11pm.  Whew!  I will try to update when I am there, but I don’t know what kind of internet access I will have in Cazorla.  Adios for now!

4 thoughts on “Hello world!

    • hey jill, mom is getting to leave for florida and she is showing me how to send a reply to you, i hope you are having a great time, I love you always Dad

  1. Hi Jill!

    Sounds great so far! This is going to be a wonderful experience for you! I look forward to reading (as you can blog…even if you do have computer access…will you have TIME?) and hearing all about it.

    You and your new friends are in my prayers!
    Vaya con Dios!
    OXOXOXO
    Lisa B.

Leave a Reply

