The Year in Review

I fully realize that this post is totally cliche, but I can’t resist looking back on this year, and of course I need to write about it.  I started 2009 in Huntsville, Alabama on a blind date at a fantastic NYE party.  (That date resulted in a 3-month relationship that I do not regret.)  Then the spring sprang, school ended, led into summer, and off I went to Europe.  Ah, Europe.  The most wonderful experience of my life.  (See earlier posts for more details!)  After the trip, my roommate and I moved into our Midtown condo where life is how I want it to be:  a pedestrian lifestyle.  Then in my total teacher mentality, a new year started…in August.  New kiddos–year seven for me–and back to Room E109 at Hopewell Middle School.  And here I am on December 31, spending the day with my roommate, Josh, and our best friend Taylor who is in town from Bolivia where he lives now.

I’m not exactly sure how I would categorize this year, but I do know that it was a good one for me.  New experiences, travel, new friends (who are girls!  Imagine!), and of course my favorite pastime–concerts.  Wow, have I seen some good ones this year! These are the ones I, my iCal, and my concert girls Amanda and Allison can remember, but I’m sure there are more:

Ray LaMontagne (twice)     Griffin House     U2     Kings of Leon     Elton John      Billy Joel      Zac Brown       Hightide Blues     Gareth Asher     Needtobreathe     Ben Deignan     Hall & Oates    John McLaughlin    the Fray     Dave Barnes    Matt Wertz        Amos Lee       Coldplay        Drew Holcomb      10 out of Tennessee    Will Hoge       Treva Blomquist       Jay Clifford      Langhorne Slim (twice)     Muse      Train (twice)       Tim Brantley     Michael Tolcher     Matthew Mayfield     Ellis Paul     Serena Ryder     Eric Hutchinson (twice)

Those shows hold some of my favorite memories.  So yes, I guess this has been a good year, maybe even great.  A friend and mentor of mine, Ann MacKinnon, and I had lunch just before Christmas, and as we got our table, she said, “Well, Dennis (her husband) and I have decided that you are doing very well.”  And yes, I guess she’s right.  I am doing very well.  And I am anticipating nothing less than greatness in 2010…

Bring it!

Leave a Reply

