I Dream of Painting and Then I Paint My Dream. –Van Gogh

Last night I went to a painting class.  Wait, scratch that, I can’t even claim it was a painting class.  It was almost paint-by-number, which for this artistically-inexperienced girl, was exactly what I needed.  Amanda and I joined a group of her friends for the challenge of taking a blank white canvas and making something out of it.  

So there it is:  a Celtic cross.  We were led step-by-step on how to do it, but we were also given creative freedom to stray from the directions as we wished.  At the end of the night, there were about fifty versions of the cross on easels around the room.  I was surprised by how interested I became in the process of painting, of creating a new color, of committing to strokes, of making it my own.  I have to say that it was the most wholesome fun I have had in a long time.  I felt exhilarated and excited by trying something I have never done before, and now I have such a desire to do that again, yes, but also to try other things I have never done.  I have an adventurous spirit, but too often I don’t actually make the plans, pay the fees, plan the trip, or find what I need to create the new experience I want to have.  So here I go, posting my promise to myself on the world wide web, committing to following through with adventurous new experiences and finding passions I didn’t even know I could have.  I wonder…what will come next?!

One thought on “I Dream of Painting and Then I Paint My Dream. –Van Gogh

  1. I love this post..I would love to take a class like that. I thought you might like a suggestion…read Juila Cameron’s book The Artist’s Way. There is a workbook to go with it….very challenging! It isn’t just for painting….it is for creativity as well. Love your cross and your smile!
    Love ya, Becky

Leave a Reply

