I am Not Worthy. But I am Thankful.

Yesterday was my 30th birthday.  30.  New decade.  Am I where I thought I would be ten years ago?  Absolutely not.  And you know what?  That is a really great and wonderful thing to have gotten wrong.

See…I love my birthday.  I really do.  I always have.  I think it’s because growing up, none of my cousins or friends had birthdays around mine, so it was always special.  When you grow up with 20+ (I lost count) cousins, it’s hard to feel singled-out.  We almost always celebrated it over Labor Day weekend, so it was such a fun way to wrap up the end of summer and celebrate being back in school.  (Nerd.  I know.)  My mother never failed to have a custom-made cake ordered from her baker friend, and most parties were held at Dalton Parks and Recreation Center, up on the hill overlooking the playground.  I never stopped loving having one day that celebrated me and only me, and this year was certainly no exception.  Everyone in my life prepped Boyfriend on what to expect so that there was no way he was set up for failure.  (Sister:  No, really Jon, her birthday is a really big deal.  I don’t think you understand.  You better make it good.)  Thanks, Sister.  Anyway, he really did make it special:  Cirque du Soleil, shopping day carrying my bags, dinner at the most fun new restaurant in town, a big fun party on Sunday afternoon, cookie cake, roses, and a runner’s watch, complete with GPS and a heart-rate monitor.  He is amazing and I do not deserve him.

And then, there is everyone else…wow.  I am truly humbled by the affection, the attention, the generosity, the thoughtfulness that was bestowed upon me this weekend.  Who am I to deserve such gestures?  How did I collect such outrageously thoughtful friends?  The gifts, while so unexpected, were some of the most thoughtful surprises I have ever received.  And dozens of my friends who came out to celebrate with me at Ormsby’s, making me feel so loved.  And all the cards and notes and texts and Facebook Wall messages that completely humbled me, bringing me to tears.  My heart swells with gratitude.

I am not worthy.

But I am thankful.

Thank you.  All of you.

One thought on “I am Not Worthy. But I am Thankful.

  1. Jillian- you are worthy because you have always treated others this same way. You have a way of making each individual feel special. You deserve this and MORE!

Leave a Reply

