A New World in the Same World

What a whirlwind my life has been since I last posted!  In August I started my tenth year of teaching, my second year at Riverwood, and my first year as English Department Chair.  I have worked harder in the last four months than I have my entire life, regularly spending 12 hours at school.  I taught two classes of at-risk 9th grade English, two classes of 10th Honors English, and then served a department of 14 English teachers as their leader.  I was overwhelmed and overworked, but so happy to be at Riverwood and be in leadership again.  In late October, at a faculty meeting held after school, there was an announcement that one of the Assistant Principals would be retiring, effective November 30.  My principal encouraged anyone on staff with a leadership certification to apply if interested, that they would be looking for in-house applicants first.  My head was spinning, my veins felt electric, my hands were shaking.  Could this be it?  I poured myself into my resume, my cover letter, my application, and my interview preparation.  On Monday November 12, I interviewed in front of a panel of ten people.  On Wednesday, I was pulled out of class and sent downtown to interview with the superintendent of Fulton County Schools.  On Thursday, a recommendation to hire me as the new AP of Riverwood was made to the board of education.  On Friday, it was announced to the Riverwood community.  Two weeks later, on December 3, I left my classes in the care of a substitute and moved into the front office.  I have been in the position for two weeks and three days, and I absolutely love it, not the way that I loved teaching, quite different, but I do love it.  I do miss my kids.  There is no feeling like standing in front of a classroom of teenagers and commanding their full attention, watching them learn, pushing them past where they thought they could go.  I will miss that.  This new job is a different kind of teaching, a different way of educating, a different kind of tired at the end of the day.  I have more one-on-one conversations with kids now.  I work with adults throughout my day, whereas for nine years I was isolated in my room with kids, having very little adult interaction in a work day.  I have a designated parking space, an office, a phone.  I hired my own replacement and she will step into my classroom next semester, take over my rosters, and teach my kids.  Weird.  And kind of sad.  But not weird or sad enough to make me want to go back.  It was time for a change, time to use the degree I worked for, time to lead.  It’s a new adventure, a new world, even if I still drive to the same school every day.

Leave a Reply

