on birthdays.

when i was growing up, i had a birthday party every single year. mom always made the day feel incredibly special. i took those experiences with me into my adult life, and have absolutely loved my birthday every single year. it always falls right after school starts, which is either good or bad, depending if i’m at a new school or not. this year, it fell on a saturday, and considering how no one at my new school knows me yet, was just perfect. my sweet husband made it such a special day, starting with two perfect presents: the new langhorne slim album on vinyl and a gorgeous new necklace. later in the day mom, ashley, and brooklyn came down with gifts and the offer to stay with the baby while jon and i went out on a date. we had the most wonderful evening of overpriced food and drinks and adult conversation. just lovely. and all throughout the day, my phone sent me notifications of thoughtful friends near and far wishing me a happy day and a great 34th year. my heart still feels full from so much love.

thank you for thinking of me on august 29, my favorite day of every year.

i fully intend on passing on this tradition of making birthdays a major holiday for baby elizabeth. watch out, december 10!

xoxo.

Leave a Reply

