On the Seventh Week…

This is the beginning of the seventh week of Shelter-in-Place, in response to the worldwide pandemic of COVID-19. For seven weeks, Jon and I have worked from home while taking full-time care of Elizabeth (age 5) and Caroline (age 2). This unprecendented experience makes me want to write, to record what this has all been like, what is on our hearts and minds.

I miss

  • unscheduled, spontaneous conversation
  • meetings where I don’t see my reflection the entire time
  • eating in restaurants
  • adult interaction off of a screen
  • my jewelry
  • my shoes
  • my hair dryer and flat iron
  • feeling put together in an outfit and hair/makeup
  • shapely brows
  • Burruss carpool mornings
  • hugs
  • sitting in classrooms with teachers and kids
  • having help with childcare
  • making plans for trips and experiences
  • planning end-of-year experiences for Burruss

I’m enjoying and am thankful for

  • slow mornings with the girls
  • opportunities to see the girls learn new things
  • time to exercise
  • gorgeous spring weather
  • a front and back yard where the girls can play and ride bikes
  • weekly meetings with my bosses and colleagues
  • weekly meetings with my staff
  • time to plan meals
  • a slower pace
  • a staff who has leaned into this new way of teaching and learning

I miss the balance of work and home. There are no lines anymore, and it is so very hard to be the mom I want and need to be while also trying to lead a school through an unprecedented global pandemic. I am trying so hard, but I am tired. That said, I was trying hard and was tired when school was in session as well. Being a working mom is just hard, no matter how you slice it. However, with the flexibility in the days now, I have been going on long walk/runs and listening to podcasts, and I’ve read three books, so that helps me feel more grounded and connected to myself. Those are things I want to keep prioritizing whenever the world reopens and schedules fill up again.

Until then, we are staying home and doing our part to flatten the curve.

fam pic

 

Leave a comment